Why I Don’t Cry Anymore.

October 19, 2010 § 2 Comments

My admiration for Kelly Cutrone first began when I saw her on MTV’s hit series The Hills and then on The City. Although her ‘I don’t give a f*ck’ attitude and her obsession with wearing black all the time don’t quite fit the personality of your ideal role model, I’ve been a fan of her’s since day one.

So one day, while I was in New York this summer in an attempt to escape my boring real life in Florida, Kelly tweeted that she would be at Bryant Park signing books the next day–five blocks from my apartment! Talk about being in the right place at the right time!

After talking to me briefly and asking me what I was doing there oh-so-nonchalantly, she carefully scribbled in my book.

“Hi Rose,” she wrote, “Welcome to NYC! Dream girl. Magical times lie ahead. Love Kelly.”

I’m starting to believe she’s right. Everyday that goes by, I can just feel that I’m getting closer to my dreams.

I might not get the perfect job, the perfect man, or the perfect wardrobe, but this book has truly changed my life forever. I’ve embarked on this journey of self-discovery, this journey of doing what feels right. Care to join me?

Before I go, I’ll leave you with this thought:

“This is how you’ve been imprinted to use your relationship to power–to use it against yourself. Everyday we create reality based on what we’ve been programmed to believe. So we spend most of our lives not really thinking clearly and coherently–not initiated thought. We spend a great deal of our lives not really living, but existing in programmed, reactive belief that we call thought.”

–John Trudell

xoxo, S.O.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Why I Don’t Cry Anymore.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why I Don’t Cry Anymore. at Style Operator.

meta

